Add to favorite
Subscribe to our Newsletters Subscribe to our Newsletters Get Daily Updates RSS

Russia Has Switched to 9 Times Zones
2.09.2011 17:15
Russia Has Switched to 9 Times Zones

Nine time zones were introduced in Russia on September 1. This division was established by the President Act on June 3, 2011 and changed 11- time- belt Soviet system of 1919.

Nine time zones will be established in Russia from September 1. The most distant zones from Moscow - plus 8 hours to Moscow time - will be Kamchatka, Magadan and Sakhalin.


      The term "time zone" is replacing the "time belt." In March, Russia for the last time put the clock ahead one hour transferring to the "summer time."

In addition, it is planned to transfer on 30 October 2011 at 2:00 a.m. the Primorsky Territory and the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) to the 7th time zone (plus six hours to Moscow time), and the Irkutsk region - to the 5th time zone (plus four hours to Moscow time). These regions are currently one hour ahead of Moscow time.



Author: Irina Fomina

Tags: Russia Russian events    

Next Previous

You might also find interesting:

Comment on our site

RSS   twitter      submit

Exhibitions in Moscow  Muromtsevo  environment  Ecotourism  Kremlin  Lyudmila Alexeyeva  St. Petersburg  Literary Meetings  Moscow  Horseradish  Forest Reserves  Taisia Korotkova  Viktor Vasnetsov  Russian retail  skiing in Russia  Russian scientists  Russian Cinema  Domodedovo  Russian rouble  Russian tourism  Krasnaya Polyana  Russian business  physics  Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Russia  Baskunchak Lake  Souvenirs  Russian trade  Russian religion  St.Petersburg nightlife  Archeological Pavillions  IT  US-Russian relations  tourist information  Russian economy  Russian sports  Joy Division  Romanovs  Russian science  Painting  Golden Raven Arctic Film Festival  Starotobolsky Highway  Russian fashion  Awards  Nobel Prize  Spartak  Russian souvenirs  Russian Music Instruments  Russian army  Strogino  Konstantin Bronzit 

Travel Blogs
Top Traveling Sites