Add to favorite
Subscribe to our Newsletters Subscribe to our Newsletters Get Daily Updates RSS

Sanctions Extended
March 14, 2016 10:03


The Council of Europe approved the extension of individual sanctions against Russian citizens and companies in connection with the Ukrainian crisis. The effect of the blacklist is extended until September 15.

On March 10 the Council of Europe extended the effect of the black list containing physical and legal persons from Russia and self-proclaimed DPR and LPR for another 6 months, which follows from the statement issued by the website of the Council of Europe. It stresses the fact that the decision to extend the sanctions was due to the “continuing undermining or threatening territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine”.

The blacklist contains a total of 146 individuals and 37 legal entities. The sanctions against them are extended until September 15, 2016. It is also noted that three persons are excluded from the blacklist because they are no longer alive. The decision to extend the sanctions will be published in the Official Journal of the EU on March 12, 2016, as the statement said. The fact that the decision to extend the anti-Russian sanctions was adopted earlier on the level of permanent representatives of 28 countries - EU members was disclosed by the sources of TASS and “RIA Novosti” in the EU Council a day before. The interlocutors stressed the fact that the final decision would be made on Thursday without debates. Individual sanctions against physical and legal persons whom Brussels considered responsible for undermining the territorial integrity of Ukraine were imposed in March 2014.

The restrictive measures include a ban on entry to the EU, as well as the freezing of their assets in European countries. Russian citizens included into the blacklist, in particular, were the speakers of the State Duma and the Federation Council Sergei Naryshkin and Valentina Matviyenko, the Deputy Prime Ministers Dmitry Kozak and Dmitry Rogozin, the Presidential Aide Vladislav Surkov, the President Advisor Sergei Glazyev, the deputies Sergei Zheleznyak and Sergei Neverov, the State Duma deputy Iosif Kobzon and other politicians. The legal persons included into the blacklist are “Rosneft”, “Transneft” and “Gazprom Oil”. The effect of the blacklist was for the last time extended in September 2015 - until March 2016.



Author: Anna Dorozhkina

Tags: Sanctions     

Next Previous

You might also find interesting:

Russian Law: Parliament in Action AvtoVAZ Will Equip Lada Cars With a Remote Control Sochi-2014 Results Street or Ulicza? The Share Of Domestic Medical Products In the Russian Market Reached 20 Percent

Comment on our site

RSS   twitter      submit

Russian business  Oympic  Hermitage Museum  Russian Cinema  Russian economy  Mega-regulator  European Bank for Reconstruction and Development  Russian retailers  Moscow  the Crimea  Sochi Olympic Games 2014  Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Russia  Semyon Farada  Russian scientists  beauty contest  Russian science  Exhibitions in Moscow  Oleg of Novgorod  Murmansk Region  airport transfer in Russia  FIFA world cup 2018 tickets  Russian sports  Komi Republic  Gazprom  Russian tourism  Moscow Theatres  Town Defenders  Russian television  Wooden Architecture  Ust-Labinsk  Nizhneudinsk  ROSCOSMOS  Urals  Zabegina  St. Petersburg  Amkar  Republic of Bashkortostan  Russian businessmen  Garry Winogrand  the Pole of Cold  Varvarka Street  Sochi Games   St. Petersburg Museums  Shishkin  Russian sculptures  Halloween  alcoholic beverages  Syria  human rights  Bell Ringing Festival 

Travel Blogs
Top Traveling Sites